What does it mean if your dog follows you?

A few examples of why your dog follows you are that they love you and want to be with you, they're bored, they're just being nosy, it’s time for dinner or a walk, they're afraid and feel safe with you, or they may be trying to tell you something such as they need water or don't feel well.