How do you get toothpaste out of carpet?

Dip a clean, white cloth into a cup of water mixed with a small amount of detergent. Dab the stain with a light, lifting motion. Repeat as needed. Blot the area with a moistened cloth to rinse out dirt-attracting detergent residue. Blot to dry.