How big is the largest spider?

The Goliath birdeater (Theraphosa blondi) belongs to the tarantula family Theraphosidae. Found in northern South America, it is the largest spider in the world by mass (170 g) and size (30 cm), but it is second to the giant huntsman spider by leg span.