What's the difference between a date and a fig?

Dates are ovular, wrinkled, look a bit like a large raisin. Figs are rounder and plump. Dates are usually stickier than dried figs. Dates are rich in potassium, about 3 times more than figs. Figs have about 2 1/2 times as much magnesium as dates.