What kind of wood floats?

Most softwoods, cedar and pine to name some, will float since their density is less than water. Most hardwoods such as ebony, mahogany, and ironwood will not float in water. Oak, even though a hardwood, will partially float. Balsa, a softwood, will float until it soaks through and then will sink.