What happened to miguel in cobra kai?

Miguel doesn't have a lot of fight left in him, and when he does compete against Hawk at the tournament, he has a seriously frightening accident. When jumping up and spinning around in an attempt to kick Hawk, he screams in pain and falls to the floor.