Is there a difference between tenderloins and fillets?

Tenderloin is the lean cut of the meat with no bone. Filet mignon is also the meat's lean cut with no bone, but it does not have a great flavor. Tenderloin is the whole muscle cut of the meat. Filet mignon is also the meat's muscle cut, but it is the portion that tapers down the tenderloin's end.