What are near doubles?

Near Doubles are those addends that are almost a double fact. 4+4 is a double fact, a near double could be 3+4 or 4+5.

---

Near Doubles are those addends that are almost a double fact.So,4+5 is very close to 4+4.Students can easily recall that the double fact for 4+4 equals 8 and by adding one more,they quickly know that 4+5 equals 9.These are math fact tools that can help second graders add within 20.