When did the board game battleship come out?

Battleship dates back to WWI and multiple companies produced pad-and-pencil game versions during the 1930s. Hasbro released the iconic plastic board game version of Battleship, featuring plastic ships and pegs, in 1967.

---

Battleship is known worldwide as a pencil and paper game which dates from World War I. It was published by various companies as a pad-and-pencil game in the 1930s, and was released as a plastic board game by Milton Bradley in 1967.