Are pineapples a citrus?

Pineapples are not a citrus fruit. They belong to the Bromeliaceae family, while citrus fruits are from the Rutaceae family. Pineapple’s acidic notes come from the vitamin C content, not from citric acid.

---

Although pineapples have quite a bit in common with citrus fruits, like taste, Vitamin C content and a love of warm weather, they are not actually related to one another.