How deep is old water?

The water turned out to be 2.6 billion years old, the oldest known water on Earth. A pocket of water some 2.6 billion years old — the most ancient pocket of water known by far, older even than the dawn of multicellular life — has now been discovered in a mine 2 miles below the Earth's surface.