When did human start farming?

Agriculture began as early as 12,000 years ago, with wild grasses that were selected for mutations that kept their seeds, rather than drop them on the ground. Some of the first domesticated grasses were rye and rice. The first intensive agriculture started 10,000 years ago, after the last ice age.