What does cheese have in it?

In general, cheese begins with some sort of milk although tofu can be used for a vegan cheese. They require a curd-forming agent such as rennet, or can be made by causing curds to for using some acid like lemon juice. Most have salt to help flavor or preserve, and some, orange cheddars, have dye.