What are the rules of lent?

Lent is a time of prayer, fasting, and almsgiving. During Lent Catholics aged 21 and up are called to practice abstinence from meat on Fridays and fast on Ash Wednesday and Good Friday. Equally in importance one is asked to use the time to grow spiritually.