What is a caper used in cooking?

Capers are pickled flower buds. Tiny capers are picked from a shrub-like bush (Capparis spinosa), before the buds ever flower. They are then dried in the sun and later brined or packed in salt. To use capers in recipes it's a good idea to rinse them first, to remove all the excess salt or brine.