Why does the north star never move?

For the present, the "North star", also known as Polaris, is located directly in line with the axis of the Earth's spin, and does not appear to move in the sky. Over time, however, the spin axis does move - precesses - and eventually, Polaris will not be aligned with the axis, and will move.