Who is simsalabim?

The phrase "Sim sim salabim" is an old stock magician's phrase like abracadabra or hocus pocus. On the TV show Johnny Quest, his friend Hadji would say this whenever he tried to do magic. The phrase is a nonsense one, not meaning anything in any other language.