How many basic groups of instruments are present in a typical symphony orchestra?

The typical symphony orchestra consists of four groups of related musical instruments called the woodwinds, brass, percussion, and strings.

---

The typical symphony orchestra consists of four groups of related musical instruments called the woodwinds, brass, percussion, and strings.