Why is it called a junebug?

June bugs get their name from the fact that adults emerge from the soil at the end of spring or the beginning of the summer. Females bury their eggs just below the soil surface. June bug larvae hatch within 3 to 4 weeks and feed on grass and plant roots from several months to as long as three years