How many symbols in the chinese language?

Altogether there are over 50,000 characters in the Chinese language, though a comprehensive modern dictionary will rarely list over 20,000 in use. An educated Chinese person will know about 8,000 characters, but you will only need about 2 to 3,000 to be able to read a newspaper.