Which side to lay mower on craftsman lawn mower?

Generally small mowers are designed to be laid on their side to change the oil, so the side the dip stick is on. It's ideal to run the gas out of the carburetor first if there is a fuel shut off valve. Shut the valve off while the engine is running and wait for it to run out of gas. Then proceed