Where was the red cross founded?

Washington DC. Founder Clara Barton Clarissa Harlowe Barton, known as Clara. Barton risked her life to bring supplies and support to soldiers in the field during the Civil War. She founded the American Red Cross in 1881, at age 59, and led it for the next 23 years