What's in fruitcake?

Recipes for fruitcake vary. Traditionally, ingredients include flour, sugar, butter, eggs, baking soda, candied or dried fruit, nuts, and spices. Liquor, such as brandy, bourbon, or rum, is often added to soften the dried fruit and give the cake a tender crumb.