Why does the sun keep on shining?

Stars, like our sun, are nuclear fusion reactors. It is not "on fire" as one would see a campfire. Ordinary fire, like wood in a campfire, is a chemical reaction that requires oxygen. Stars produce heat and light, that LOOKS like fire, by smashing small hydrogen nuclei together.