When can you paint pressure treated wood?

Pressure-treating adds chemicals, and wets the wood. It takes time to dry thoroughly. It is recommended that pressure-treated wood be allowed to "dry", for 3-6 months before painting or staining. To test its readiness, apply a drop of water. If it sinks into the wood, it is ready to paint.