Why doesn't the west coast have hurricanes?

Actually, the west coast of the United States does experience hurricanes. Hurricane Norman struck in 1978, Hurricane Kiko in 1989, Hurricane Nora in 1997, and recently, Hurricane Rosa in 2018.