How far can you see to the horizon?

The horizon isn’t a static property. It depends on the shape of the surrounding terrain, the atmospheric conditions and the height of your viewpoint. For an observer with eye level above sea level by 5 ft 7 in, the horizon is at a distance of about 3 mi.