What's the difference between a wasp and a hornet?

Hornets are larger than wasps. Hornets have black and white stripes while wasps have black and yellow stripes. Wasps also have some members of their species that use mud to build small mud colored nests. Hornets build what are exclusively called paper nests that are gray which are usually large.