What is palm oil made from?

Palm oil is an edible vegetable or derived from mesocarp (reddish pulp) of the fruit or Palms primarily the African oil palm Elaeis guineensis, and to a lesser extent from the American oil palm Elaeis oleifera and maripa palm Attalea maripa. The reddish color is because it is high in beta carotene.

---

Palm oil is made from the fruit of oil palm trees.