What are egg substitutes?

Egg substitutes are foods that mimic one or more properties of eggs and can be used instead of eggs in cooking or baking. Applesauce, Bananas, and powdered eggs are examples. Other types of egg substitutes contain mostly egg whites. A vegan option contains liquified bean protein.

---

Vinegar & baking soda. Replace 1 egg with: 1 teaspoon baking soda, 1 tablespoon vinegar Unsweetened applesauce. Replace 1 egg with: 1/4 cup applesauce Plain or vanilla soy yogurt. Replace 1 egg with: 1/4 cup yogurt Silken tofu Ripe banana Ground flaxseed