What war was britannic in?

HMHS Britannic served as a hospital ship during World War I. Originally designed as a passenger ship for the White Star Line, Britannic was a sister ship to RMS Titanic and RMS Olympic. When Britannic hit a mine and sank on November 21, 1916 it became the largest ship lost during the war.