Where do diamonds come from?

Naturally-occurring diamonds are brought close to the Earth's surface by magma during deep volcanic eruptions. Some of the magma cools into pipe-shaped igneous rocks known as kimberlites and lamproites, some of which yield diamonds. Russia, Botswana and the Congo are the primary producers.