Why is mace windu's lightsaber purple?

Mace Windu's lightsaber color was achieved using an extremely rare crystal found on the planet Hurikane. The purple color was symbolic, indicating that the bearer had studied several forms of lightsaber combat. However, it is mostly because the actor liked the color purple.