When did veganism start?

Veganism is an extreme form of vegetarianism, and though the term was coined in 1944, the concept of flesh-avoidance can be traced back to ancient Indian and eastern Mediterranean societies.Vegetarianism is first mentioned by the Greek philosopher and mathematician Pythagoras of Samos around 500 BCE