What are the eight main islands of hawaii?

The state of Hawaii is composed mainly of eight principal islands. In order of size (largest to smallest), they are Hawaii, Maui, Oahu, Kauai, Molokai, Lanai, Niihau, and Kahoolawe. Most of the other islands in the Hawaiian chain are uninhabited.