What is sodium citrate?

Sodium citrate is the sodium salt of citric acid. It is white, crystalline powder or white, granular crystals, slightly deliquescent in moist air, freely soluble in water, practically insoluble in alcohol. From the medical point of view, it is used as alkalinizing agent.