What are pacifiers made out of?

Pacifiers generally have three parts: the nipple; the guard, which rests on the baby's lips; and the ring at the center of the guard. Artificial nipples are always made of a material that closely simulates a mother's nipple. It is usually of latex or silicone and is occasionally of hard plastic.