How strong is a dolphin?

A dolphin's tail creates about six times more force than an Olympic swimmer. Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute researchers said in a release. A dolphin's leisurely pace generates 549 Watts, while a dolphin accelerating produces 10 times more power, 2 times as much as Usain Bolt at his top speed.