What does the phrase mind your p.'s and q.'s mean?

One theory of the origin of the expression mind your P's and Q's is that it is from pubs and taverns in the 17th century. Bartenders would keep an eye on how many pints and quarts patrons were consuming and would tell them to mind their P's and Q's. It now means mind your manners.