What is the difference between a modular home and a manufactured home?

The main difference between modular and manufactured homes is in the permanence. For instance modular homes are placed on a permanent foundation; whereas trailers, or manufactured homes are built on a steel chassis with wheels attached. This is so the trailer can be moved or towed.