How do you get an avocado to ripen quickly?

To accelerate the natural ripening process place 2-3 avocados in a brown paper bag, close the bag and store at room temperature. If you do not have paper bags on hand, wrapping them in a newspaper will also do. For even quicker ripening, add an apple, banana or a tomato to the bag.