Why is rhode island named rhode island?

The first mention of Rhode Island in writing was made by explorer Giovanni da Verrazzano in 1524 when he compared it to the Island of Rhodes in the Mediterranean. The Dutch explorer Adriaen Block, who called it "Roodt Eylandt," meaning "red island.”