What do bats do in the winter?

Some percentage of bats are known to migrate during the winter while others are known to hibernate during winter

---

In temperate areas, some microbats migrate hundreds of kilometres to winter hibernation dens; others pass into torpor in cold weather, rousing and feeding when warm weather allows insects to be active. Others retreat to caves for winter and hibernate for as much as six months.