How does thunder make a sound?

Lightning is a discharge of electricity. A single stroke heats the air around it to 54,000 degrees Fahrenheit or 30,000 degrees Celsius! This extremely heated air causes an explosive fast expansion of the air. This then creates a shock wave that turns into a sound wave, known as thundering boom.