Where does the word tantalize come from?

The word tantalize comes From Tantalus in Greek mythology. Tantalus, a mythical king of Phrygia, was condemned to Tartarus in the underworld where he stands for eternity in water that recedes from him when he stoops to drink, beneath fruit trees whose branches are always out of reach.