How many states have native american names?

26 states have Native American names: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Connecticut, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Michegan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, North & South Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Wisconsin and Wyoming.