Who shot first in the revolutionary war?

The militiamen hustled to Concord's North Bridge, which was being defended by a contingent of British soldiers. The British fired first but fell back when the colonists returned the volley. This was the “shot heard 'round the world” later immortalized by poet Ralph Waldo Emerson.