What are gas tears used for in minecraft?

In Minecraft, Ghast tears are brewing items dropped by ghasts. Ghast tears can now be brewed in a water bottle to create a mundane potion, or in an awkward potion to create a potion of Healing. They can also create potions of Regeneration.