Why are they called steel cut oats?

Steel-cut oats are made by chopping hulled oat grains, or groats, into small pieces with a steel blade, which is how they got their name. The process keeps each part of the grain, including the bran, endosperm, and germ, mostly intact.

---

Steel cut oats are processed using a steel blade which cuts them into pieces rather than grinding them.