When i was one and twenty metaphor?

"When I Was One-and-Twenty" has one clear message about love: that it inevitably leads to suffering. A wise man, presumably speaking from experience, tries to warn the young speaker not to fall in love—because giving "the heart" away is "paid with sighs a plenty" and "endless rue" (that is, misery).